Algoma Workforce Investment Corporation (AWIC)


AWIC’s greatest strength is our comprehensive regional community representation.

Our Board of Directors and project partners represent a diverse range of constituency groups.



Adam Pinder Sault Ste. Marie Construction Association
Alyssa Ferreira North Shore Health Network (East Algoma)
Annie Austin North Shore Tribal Council (East Algoma)
Bryan Hotchkiss Arauco  
Christine Ducharme Employment Options Emploi (East Algoma)
Cindi Elgie Algoma University
Dan Friyia SSM & Area CFDC
Dan Morgan Canadian Mental Health Association
Dylan Turgeon Lallemand Inc./BioForest
Edo Ten Broek Retired Human Resources Executive (East Algoma) 
Karol Rains Sault Community Career Centre
Lori Crosson Sault College Continuing Education
Maggie Catterick Employment Solutions
Mike Delfre United Way of Sault Ste. Marie and District
Russell Reid Regional Employment Help Centre
Shawn Heard East Algoma CFDC
Silvana Dereski Wawa Family Health Team
Susie Lauzon Centre Education et de formation pour adultes(CEFA)
Tracy Amos Superior East CFDC


Christine Kucher                     Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines 
Guy Pelletier Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development

Serving on the AWIC Board of Directors is an excellent opportunity to act as a catalyst for positive change in Algoma’s labour market.

The primary role of AWIC is to provide coordination and leadership regarding workforce development and planning in workforce development issues/opportunities in the Algoma District.

Board members come from the following sectors that have expertise in the areas of:

  • Business
  • Economic Development
  • Education
  • Health
  • Human Services
  • Indigenous

For further information such as Terms of Reference and the AWIC By-Laws click the links.